T.R. MARDİN ARTUKLU UNIVERSITY Erasmus+ Coordinatorship
  • /
  • ECTS


European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) is a system designed to facilitate recognition of study attainment and performance of students between institutions of higher education across the European Union. The System sets down a standard of ECTS credits based on the workload needed by students to achieve expected learning outcomes.

Credits in ECTS can only be obtained after successful completion of the work required and appropriate assessment of the learning outcomes achieved. Learning outcomes are sets of competences, expressing what the student will know, understand or be able to do after completion of a process of learning, long or short.

Student workload in ECTS consists of the time required to complete all planned learning activities such as attending lectures, seminars, independent and private study, preparation of projects and examinations.

Credits are allocated to all educational components of a study programme (such as modules, courses, placements, dissertation work, etc.) and reflect the quantity of work each component requires to achieve its specific objectives or learning outcomes in relation to the total quantity of work necessary to complete a full year of study successfully.

Every course offered at Mardin Artuklu University has both local and ECTS credits. The local credit of a lesson is formed by taking the total hours spent by the student in theoretical lessons every week, and half the hours spent in the laboratory, practical lessons, or in the studio. This system, created from the start for credit transfer, is used as a credit accumulation system institutionally, regionally, nationally and on the European level.

You should note that for the recognition as an ERASMUS student a minimum of 30 ECTS points per semester and a minimum of 60 ECTS points per study year must be obtained.

T.C. Mardin Artuklu University Rectorate